All is quiet on New Year’s Day…

41 degrees in Adelaide today. Combine such intense calidity with fierce alcohol-induced dehydration and the hazy fog of morning-after-the-big-night-before disorientation, and it’s a Burke & Wills-style death trip just to get out of bed to take a piss.

I, however, eventually alighted from my comfy air bed, and braved the elements (and dodged a heat-affected cat that was reclining directly in my stumbling line outside my bedroom door) to not only make the journey to the household toilet, but venture into the kitchen as well for some well-earned sustainance in the form of rolled oats, soy milk and orange juice.

As I ate my breakfast (at 3 in the afternoon), I recalled with fondness the events of the night before (one of which I’ll document here later), along with entertaining the inevitable “what will the next twelve months hold for me” thoughts that come with the bright new year. I’ve never really been very active in making change in my life, and I’ve never made a New Year’s resolution. I’ve always thought they were just an idealistic wank, really. That being said, I’m proceeding to give myself a Happy New Year handjob and declaring that in 2012, I’m on the pursuit of happiness. Wanting to be happy sounds simple, even obvious, but it’s an idea that I’ve gotten away from, or more correctly, never really embraced in the first place. I’ve never really just enjoyed life, because I was always hanging on way too tight, so I think it’s time for me to listen to my inner Tyler Durden and “just let go”.

One thing that does makes me happy is writing. I love communicating and expressing my thoughts in written form, but I never really do enough of it, so I intend to change that, with this blog. I’ll use this space to share thoughts, ideas and whatever else is on my mind really, beyond the 140 character limitations of Twitter. I’ll still tweet regularly of course, as that medium is great for documenting thoughts, ideas and observations as they happen, but sometimes I’d like to expand upon things and just write freely. I don’t really know what’s in store for this blog, or for myself or anyone else in the year ahead, but hopefully it will be a pretty wild ride. Hands on the wheel? Uh uh, fuck that.

Leave a Reply

